Sri Konda Laxman Telangana State Horticultural University

Sri Konda Laxman Telangana State Horticultural University (SKLTSHU)  was established on 23rd December 2014 with its headquarter in Rajendranagar, Hyderabad. It is named after veteran freedom fighter Konda Laxman Bapuji.  

Based on land grant pattern of USA, the University comprises of two horticultural colleges and two horticultural polytechnics. It has 11 Research stations each focusing on need based, location specific research on production, protection, post harvest technology and value addition of mandatory horticultural crops. There are 6 more research centers which  work on Fruits (Mango, Guava and Grapes), Vegetables, Tuber and Flower crops (Chrysanthemum, tuberose and gladiolus).

The future vision of the SKLTSHU is to establish the following research stations:
  • Dry land Horticultural Research Station at Mahaboobnagar district
  • Chilli and seed spice Research Station, Warangal district
  • Potato and Onion Research station at Zaheerabad, Medak district
A state of art PG Research center with all the infrastructure and latest equipment is being established at Mulugu, the new headquarters of the SKLTSHU to give horticulture a boost.

Academic Programmes in SKLTSHU

B.Sc. (Hons.) Horticulture

A pass in two year Intermediate Examination conducted by the Board of Intermediate Education, Telangana State or any other examination recognized as equivalent thereto by the University or Intermediate Board with physical sciences and biological sciences.

The seats under ICAR quota are filled by ICAR, based on the performance in the written examination and choice of the students and some by EAMCET.

M.Sc. (Horticulture)

This is a two year post graduate programme with specialization in (i) Fruit Science (ii) Vegetable Science (iii) Floriculture & Landscape Architecture and (iv) Spices, Plantation, Medicinal & Aromatic Crops.

The selection shall be based on the previous academic record (B.Sc.(Hons.) Horticulture / B.Sc. (Hort.) – 40% and performance in Entrance test -60%). General And OBC Candidates with 50 % Marks in the entrance relaxable in case of SC/ST candidates with 25 % Marks in the entrance test are eligible for counselling. 
The Entrance Test shall be comprehensive one, covering all relevant subjects prescribed for the Bachelor degree in Horticulture of SKLTS Horticultural University.

Ph.D. (Horticulture)

This three year programme is offered at College of Horticulture, Rajendranagar, Hyderabad. A pass in M.Sc. (Hort) with specialization in fruit science, vegetable science, floriculture and landscape architecture and spices, plantation, medicinal and aromatic plants.

Selection shall be based on the previous academic record B.Sc.(Hort.) – 10%, M.Sc. (Hort.) – 30%, Entrance test – 50% and performance in Interview- 10%). 

Diploma In Horticulture

Pass in X class with overall grade 5.0 (excluding Hindi) for General and overall grade 4.0 (excluding Hindi) for S.C. & S.T. should be studied in rural areas at least for a period of Four years.

Horticulture Colleges

College of Horticulture, Mojerla, Mahaboobnagar District
College of Horticulture, Rajendranagar, Hyderabad District

SKLTSHU Departments
  • Fruit Science
  • Vegetable Science
  • Floriculture and Landscaping
  • Spices, Plantation, Medicinal & Aromatic crops
  • Post-harvest Technology
  • Entomology
  • Plant Pathology
  • Genetics and Plant Breeding
  • Agronomy and Soil Science
  • Plant Physiology, Biochemistry & Microbiology
  • English, Statistics & Social Sciences
  • Horticultural Engineering and Environmental Science Animal Husbandry
Contact Details

Sri Konda Laxman Telangana State Horticultural University,
Mulugu (Village & Mandal), Siddipet District - 502279,
Telangana State, India.

Connect me with the Top Colleges